Winning Projects

Winning Projects

Since 2000, UNESCO has received 720 entries from 25 countries. A total of 212 projects have received the awards. In addition, 14 projects have been honored with the Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts, which recognizes contemporary architectural design in their heritage contexts. 

The winners span a wide range of conservation projects from private residences to palace complexes. Over the years, the projects illustrate the increasing momentum and level of conservation in Asia and the Pacific. 

The Awards set high technical and social standards for conservation in the region. They have increased local preservation efforts, inspiring local communities to take action to save their historic buildings.


Winners of 2017 UNESCO Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation

The 2017 Asia-Pacific Award for Cultural Heritage Conservation resulted in a large pool of projects awarded, with 16 winners coming from six countries across the region. The top Award of Excellence was given to the Blue House Cluster in Hong Kong SAR, China for its triumphant validation of a truly inclusive approach to urban conservation.

The revitalization of the Blue House Cluster is an exceptional example of a prolonged and committed grassroots advocacy campaign that saved  one of the last remaining working class community in the fast-gentrifying enclave of Wan Chai. This unprecedented civic effort to protect marginalized local heritage in one of the world’s most high‐pressure real estate markets is an inspiration for other embattled urban districts in the region and beyond.

Three winners received the 2017 Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts. This marks the highest number since the category was launched in 2005. The Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts recognizes newly built structures that demonstrate outstanding design well integrated into historic contexts. The winners include: Jingdezhen Ceramic Industry Museum in Jiangxi Province, China; the Macha Village in Gansu Province, China; and the Persian Gulf University – Faculty of Art & Architecture in Bulshehr, Iran.

The jury selected projects from 43 submissions, including 31 in the Conservation category and 12 for New Design. Other Awardees included:

Award of Distinction:

  • Brookman and Moir Streets Precinct, Perth, Australia
  • Holy Trinity Cathedral, Shanghai, China

Award of Merit:

  • Christ Church, Mumbai, India
  • Royal Bombay Opera House, Mumbai, India
  • Sri Ranganathaswamy Temple, Srirangam, India
  • Great Hall and Clock Tower Buildings, Arts Centre, Christchurch, New Zealand

Honourable Mention:

  • Bomonjee Hormarjee Wadia Fountain and Clock Tower, Mumbai, India
  • Gateways of Gohad Fort, Gohad, India
  • Haveli Dharampura, Delhi, India
  • Wellington Fountain, Mumbai, India
  • Aftab Cultural House, Isfahan, Iran
  • Cathedral of the Good Shepherd and Rectory Building, Singapore

Please find out more about our past winners by downloading the files below.