Call for Entries: 2021 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation

Call for Entries: 2021 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation

UNESCO recognizes conservation projects that contribute to sustainable development in the Asia-Pacific region

28 April 2021, BANGKOK Submissions are now being accepted for the 2021 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation, further strengthening the cultural foundations of sustainable development in the region.

The Awards programme sets standards for transformative heritage practice for Asia and the Pacific by recognizing excellence in conservation and outstanding new design in heritage contexts.

In 2020, UNESCO introduced the “Special Recognition for Sustainable Development” and an updated set of Awards criteria to acknowledge more prominently the role and contribution of cultural heritage to sustainable development within the broader framework of the 2030 Agenda.

The UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards acknowledges exemplary efforts by individuals and organizations to restore or conserve structures, places and properties of heritage value in the region. It encourages other property owners to undertake conservation projects within their communities, either independently or by seeking public-private partnerships.

Since 2000, the Awards have recognized 275 winners from 22 countries for their understanding of place, technical achievement, and significant sustainability and policy impacts at the local, national and regional levels. By recognizing these projects, the Awards have contributed to changing the conversation about what constitutes cultural heritage, who has a stake in its stewardship, and how cultural heritage can contribute to the sustainable well-being of cities, societies and the environment.

The deadline for the receipt of materials is 31 July 2021.

Award Categories
Winners will be announced in December 2021 in the following categories: Award of Excellence, Award of Distinction, Award of Merit, Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts and Special Recognition for Sustainable Development.

The Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts is given to newly built projects that demonstrate outstanding design that is well integrated into historic contexts. Submissions of completed new design projects that enrich existing heritage settings are encouraged. Building annexes, as well as new extensions, new buildings, new public spaces and new structures, such as bridges, are all eligible for consideration.

The Special Recognition for Sustainable Development recognizes projects that demonstrate noteworthy achievement in the Awards criteria and have a significant impact in contributing to sustainable development. Projects that are submitted to either the any category are eligible for this recognition.

Eligibility Criteria
Eligible projects must have been completed within the past 10 years. Houses, commercial and institutional buildings, historic towns and villages, archaeological sites and cultural landscapes, for example, are all suitable for entry. For buildings with a new use, the project must also have been occupied or put to viable use for at least one year at the time of submission. Projects must also demonstrate private sector involvement, per the Awards regulations.

How to Apply
Entries for the 2021 Awards programme must be submitted to UNESCO Bangkok before the deadline, using an official entry form, and including a description of the project in the official format and drawings and photographs in hard and softcopy formats.

To Apply for the 2021 Awards and for relevant resources, please visit:

In 2020, 48 projects from nine countries across the Asia-Pacific region were submitted for consideration, with seven projects from two countries recognized. The 2020 Special Recognition for Sustainable Development was given to Lai Chi Wo Rural Cultural Landscape in Hong Kong SAR, China and Sunder Nursery in New Delhi, India.

The Sunder Nursery was also given the Award of Excellence. The Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts went to Protective Shelter at the Locality 1 Archaeological Site of Zhoukoudian Peking Man Cave World Heritage Site in Beijing, China.

For further details on previous winners, please visit:

For more information on project submissions, please contact:

Culture Unit, UNESCO Bangkok
Tel: (66 2) 391-0577 Ext. 511 / Fax: (66 2) 391-0866

For media inquiries, please contact:

Akané Nozaki
Public Information Officer
UNESCO Bangkok